The Forest Products Society will celebrate leaders and innovators in the forestry industry with its Annual Excellence Awards at the 74th International Convention. FPS members are encouraged to nominate outstanding contributors someone or encourage colleagues to do so.

AWARDS UPDATE: 2020 Award Winners have been selected and will be recognized in

conjunction with our Virtual IC beginning on July 27, 2020

Award winners have been announced. Click here to see FPS's press release.

2020 Gottschalk Memorial Award Winner

Maureen Puettman

Fred Gottschalk Memorial Award
The Fred W. Gottschalk Memorial Award recognizes and honors exceptional service to the Forest Products Society by an individual member. The Fred W. Gottschalk Memorial Award is presented annually in memory of Fred W. Gottschalk, the first President of the Forest Products Society who died in a plane crash in Salt Lake City in 1965.
To be eligible for nomination, the candidate must have been an active member of the Society for a minimum of 10 years with a demonstrable history of service to the Society. 
To submit a nomination, send a letter of recommendation and the nominee's background to Jennifer Whitlow at
L.J. Markwardt Wood Engineering Award
The L.J. Markwardt Wood Engineering Award is intended to encourage research and promote knowledge of wood in the engineering field as a means of enhancing the efficient utilization of wood. This Award was established in 1969 by L.J. Markwardt, a Charter member of the Society, who was for many years an Assistant Director at the USDA Forest Products Laboratory in Madison, WI in charge of Wood Engineering Research. 
The Award is presented annually to the author or authors of a technical paper published during the two calendar years prior to the award year in either the Forest Products Journal  or Wood and Fiber Science that is judged to be the most outstanding research paper in the field of wood as an engineering material. 
In 2020, wood engineering research papers stressing science (Basic) are eligible for the Award.
To submit a nomination, send a letter of recommendation and the nominee's background to Jennifer Whitlow at

2020 Markwardt Award Winner

"Experimental and Numerical Investigation on Compression Creep Behavior of Wood"

Authors: Wen Gang Hu and Huiyuan Guan, Nanjin Forestry University, China

2020 Wood Award Winner - 1st Place

Osei Asafu-Adjaye - Auburn University

2020 Wood Award Winner - 2nd Place

Saied Nikafshar - Michigan State University

FPS Wood Award
The Forest Products Society’s Wood Award (first and second place) recognizes and honors the most outstanding research in the field of wood and wood products conducted by graduate students. The Wood Award is the most prestigious award in the area of graduate research in wood and wood products. The 1st Wood Award was presented in 1948, and with the exception of the years 1951 and 1952, it has been given annually since its inception.
The graduate student author must have been registered for a full quarter or full semester at any university or college during the prior year. The paper must be in English, limited in length to between 2,000 to 4,000 words, and in a format consistent with that of a submission to a scientific journal. For judging purposes, any reference to the university or institution where research is or was conducted, and any mention of the author's name must be deleted from the title page and the body of the text. 
To submit a nomination, the graduate student's research adviser should send the student's paper and a letter of recommendation to Jennifer Whitlow at
Wood Engineering Achievement Award - Young Engineer
The Wood Engineering Achievement Award recognizes excellence in the discipline of wood engineering. Measurable and significant impact on the field of wood engineering must be demonstrated by the winner, with tangible evidence of accomplishment in the field being the key. The Award is designed to honor achievement in the design of structures or structural elements, or in the development of building codes, consensus standards, design procedures, or educational programs related to wood engineering. The Award alternates each year between three categories: Lifetime Achievement, Young Engineer, and Engineering Innovation.
In 2020, FPS will recognize The Young Engineer Award. The Young Engineering Innovation Award honors an individual who has provided a valuable contribution to the field of wood engineering. This award is intended to encourage young (40 years of age or younger) engineers, researchers, or scientists with promising potential for significant contribution to the field.
To submit a nomination, send a letter of recommendation and the nominee's background to Jennifer Whitlow at

2020 Wood Engineering Achievement Award Winner

Arijit Sinha